The Canadian Championship – Brief Overview

Voyageurs Cup – The History

The Voyageurs Cup is a victory cup presented to any winning team taking part in the Canadian Championship. The Canadian Championship is the one and only domestic Canadian soccer competition being held in Canada with all the Professional Canadian soccer teams playing in it. This Championship is the route for members of the Canadian soccer clubs to participate further in the International soccer competitions. The club that wins in the Canadian Championship qualifies for the CONCACAF Championship League and then to the FIFA Club World Cup if they successfully qualify for that too. The Canadian Championship is also called the Battle of the North and it solely comprises of Canadian clubs participating in it.

Since 1996 The Voyageurs Cup was announced to be presented to the winners of the Canadian Championship by their fan club called The Voyageurs. The Voyageurs consists of fans of the Canada men’s national team. Apparently, they had been pushing the Canadian Soccer Association to hold a Championship where the Voyageurs Cup is presented to the winning team. As the Canadian Soccer Association was not passing the request, the Voyageurs took the responsibility on their own and with joined efforts and donations from all the members and thus presented the first-ever Voyageurs Cup to the winners in 2002. After many years of funding and presenting the Voyageurs Cup to one of the winners of the Canadian clubs played by the Canada men’s soccer team, in 2018, the Voyageurs Cup was taken over by the Canadian Soccer Association to handle to The Canadian Championship by themselves. Some of the clubs playing in the Canadian Championship are the Montreal Impact, Toronto FC, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, and more. TFC has a history of winning the Voyageurs Cup 7 times. The Montreal Impact has won the Canadian Championship 3 times and the Vancouver Whitecaps FC won it in 2015.

Teams Participating in the Canadian Championship

The 2019 Canadian Championship has been announced to take place from May 15, 2019. There will be 13 teams participating for the first time in the Canadian Championship, and 24 matches will be played. The teams competing consist of the following:

Major League Soccer Clubs:

Toronto FC

Montreal Impact

Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Canadian Premier League Clubs:

FC Edmonton

Forge FC

Valour FC

Cavalry FC

HFX Wanderers

Pacific FC

York9 FC

Former United Soccer League Ottawa Fury FC
Premiere Ligue du Soccer de Quebec’s AS Blainville
League1 Ontario Champions Vaughan SC

New Format of the 2019 Canadian Championship

The new format for the Canadian Championship was announced in January. The tournament is to be held from 15th of May and will continue until September. There will be 13 teams competing as stated above, and the Canadian Premier League is going to participate in the championship for the first time. It is the biggest Canadian Championship tournament to be ever held. On the first round, six teams will compete to qualify for the next round. The teams selected for the first qualifying are AS Blainville, Vaughan Azzurri, Cavalry FC, HFX Wanderers FC, Pacific FC, and York9. The new format shows that three of the teams will qualify from the first round and advance to the next round. Here the Montreal Impact, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Ottawa Fury FC will be presented. Three teams will be advancing to the Semi-final round. The Champions, Toronto FC of  Major League Soccer will be advanced to the semi-final round to compete with the three qualifying teams of the previous round with  two of them will successfully move on to the final round.

Matchups to be held in the 2019 Canadian Championship

Round One:

HFX Wanderers vs Vaughan Azzuri
Pacific FC vs Cavalry FC
York 9 vs AS Blainville

Round Two:

Forge FC vs Round One
FC Edmonton vs Round One
Valour FC vs Round One

Round Three:

Montreal Impact vs Round Two
Vancouver Whitecaps vs Round Two
Ottawa Fury vs Round Two

Semi Finals:

Toronto FC vs Round Three
Round Three vs Round Three


Semi-Final Winner vs Semi-Final Winner

The Final round of the Canadian Championship will be held on September 18 and September 25. Each round will be determined by the scores over two legs. It is determined that whenever a tie occurs, away goals will be considered to decide the winners of the rounds. Penalty kicks will be taken into account to determine the winner if the away goals don’t. The winning team will be presented with The Voyageurs Cup. 

Please follow and like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nine − eight =